Oh She Glows’ ‘Tomato Walnut Basil Pasta’

IMAG1208-1

It’s been a busy few weeks leading up to submissions for this semester of uni, and there are still a couple more to go. With the mounting stress, decreasing sleep and looming cold and flu season, I figured it was about time to look after my health a bit better. Starting with a hot cup of rose hip tea followed by a hearty meal.

With ‘health’ on my mind, I recalled a blog I once saw called Oh She Glows. Pretty healthy and inspiring things happening over there. It didn’t take long to find a recipe that appealed to my cravings: Tomato Walnut Basil Pasta. Yes, pasta. But it’s not your standard nutrient-lacking pasta sauce. While you’ve got the standard tomato, garlic (great for warding off those colds) and fresh basil combination, there’s also nutritional yeast, spinach and walnuts! It’s got to be the healthiest pasta recipe I’ve ever seen.

It’s easy enough to make, although with all those amazing ingredients it does end up on the expensive side. I’m also not sure how Angela manages to keep her version so red. Once I added the nutritional yeast to mine, the best I could manage was a vibrant orange. However, it is tasty, comforting and guilt-free. At least, more guilt-free than mi goreng or frozen dumplings, which are currently my unhealthy stand-bys for when I don’t feel like cooking. Next time I might whip out the food processor to really speed things up.

One thought on “Oh She Glows’ ‘Tomato Walnut Basil Pasta’

Leave a Reply

